Franz F. Pischinger Powertrain Innovation Award

Nomination Deadline: October 15
Nomination Form

This award recognizes exceptional innovation and competence in powertrain design and development through the annual recognition of an engineer who has demonstrated outstanding innovation in the field. The powertrain remains the "heart" of the transportation industry. It is the singular most expensive and most complex part of every vehicle. SAE, more than any other organization, has been integral in supporting automotive engineers in their endeavors to improve transportation powertrains. This award is a logical extension of SAE's core activities.

Prof. Franz Pischinger has devoted his entire career to furthering powertrain technology and the education of young engineers as they prepared for careers in engineering. He held leading positions in the powertrain industry for most of his 50-year career and, until 2003, was the President and CEO of FEV Motorentechnik GmbH, where he currently retains the title of Chairman of the Board. Prof. Pischinger has also been responsible for educating thousands of students into the field of powertrain engineering, while overseeing the activities of the Institute for Applied Thermodynamics at the Aachen Technical University from 1970 to 1997. Many of his former students now hold leading roles in the automotive and transportation industry worldwide.

The Award
The SAE Franz F. Pischinger Powertrain Innovation Award was established in 2008 by FEV to recognize outstanding innovation in powertrain design and development and to honor Prof.-Dr. Franz F. Pischinger. The Award consists of a bronze plaque and an honorarium that will be presented at a prestigious SAE Awards Ceremony.

Eligibility Criteria
The nominee must be an engineer (employed or retired) whose professional career focuses on powertrain technology in a leadership role, and demonstrates innovation through patents, publications, and/or new products or processes. The award will recognize technical innovation and overall impact on the advancement of powertrain technology over the nominee's career. In addition, contributions made by the nominee to advance SAE's goal to further global mobility technology will be considered.

Members of the Franz F. Pischinger Powertrain Innovation Award Committee are not eligible for this award while serving on the Award Board.


Questions? Contact SAE Award Program Staff

SAE Contact Information