Ableson Award for Visionary Leadership

This award is the highest recognition that the SAE Foundation Board of Trustees bestows upon an individual who has exhibited exemplary leadership that benefited SAE, the SAE Foundation, and/or the SAE Foundation Canada.
  • Recipient must have more than 20 years of service to the mobility community, representing industry, academia or government and must have made notable contributions serving in a leadership capacity.
  • Recipient must have served on the SAE Foundation Board or the SAE Foundation Canada Board of Directors for more than 3 years or be a leader who has made significant contributions toward improving math, science, engineering or technology education.
  • Recipient must have led at least one initiative that resulted in noteworthy advancements of the SAE Foundation's mission.
The SAE Foundation, the charitable arm of SAE International, encourages and increases student participation and achievement in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). It funds awards and scholarships as well as full continuum of K-16 STEM educational programs, including A World In Motion®, F1 in Schools, and the Collegiate Design Series™.

Established in 2003, this award honors Donald W. Ableson, 1999 SAE President, who played a key role in establishing and building the SAE Foundation and the SAE Foundation Canada. He has made notable contributions to the advancement of the automotive industry and has given selflessly of his time and energy to SAE, the SAE Foundation, and the SAE Foundation Canada.

Award consists of a crystal memento presented at the SAE Foundation's Annual Celebration event in May.
Nomination Deadline: March 31

HTML for Linking to Page
Page URL